My Not So Triumphant Return to Crossfit

Hey guys! So, now that I’m a few weeks post race, I’m putting my focus back on CrossFit. I had made the decision that I was going to be all CrossFit, all the time again, and then Florida BFF called me and asked if I wanted to do the race. So that pushed back my full time CrossFit return a little. I’ve been back regularly for about a week and I’ve definitely learned some things after taking a hiatus from my normal 5-6 time a week (sometimes 2-a-days) routine.

I am weak.

Sure I can breathe a little better. Running helped my endurance a lot, and I find the WODs that have running in them bearable. I no longer fear them. I’m still slow as a pop up loading on a dialup connection, but I’m just better at it. So thank you running for that.

But, fuck you, running, for what you did to my strength. All of my lifts but my back squat are where they were 3 months ago. I’m not even kidding. I was adding 5 lbs every 2-3 weeks on all my lifts, and now I’m right back where I was. My friend that I work out with frequently- she and I were at about the same pace as far as gains go. But now she’s added 30lbs to her clean, and I’m the exact same weight as when I started running. It’s so frustrating.

I’ve found a real pride in getting stronger. Like I’ve said, my original goal was losing weight (we’ll get into that in a second) but now it’s also become a goal of getting stronger. There is an incredible woman at my gym, who is a mom of 2 in her 40’s, and she is so strong. She seriously inspires me all the time. I want to be just like her. So it’s frustrating when I haven’t moved forward at all. But what about your back squat, you say. I said it was the only one that wasn’t holding steady. That’s because I did 30lbs less than my one rep max and almost dumped it forward. And I haven’t tried to max out in MONTHS, so I’m sure before I stopped doing WODs I could squat more than 185 but I didn’t try, because little did I know I’d become freaking Gumby with Gumby arms and legs that can’t hold a clay sammich. Ugghhh.

I know, I know. It’s like starting over….Sam told me this would happen and that I wouldn’t have PR’s for awhile. But man is it tough to swallow.

Speaking of swallowing (food, perve), I’ve switched up my diet a little. My weightless has just stalled the heck out. I’m going down some, but for the most part, it’s a slow go. So what I’m doing now is eating to my macros. I used a calculator to find out what they are, manually set them in MyFitnessPal and I’m trying to figure it all out. The problem with being Paleo is that so much of my food had a lot of fat. Good fat, but with my macros, I have to keep my fat intake to a certain number. But all of my foods put me over my fat allowance with, like, 1000 calories still on the board. And I just do not do well with grains, or with dairy….so I’m shoving sweet potatoes down my face, and yucca, and bananas and broccoli and anything I can get my hands on that has no fat in it so that way I’m nourishing my body and aiding my recovery. But I’ve planned, I’ve bought a food scale, and I’ve gotten better with figuring it all out. Now I’m meeting all my numbers, but man, am I sick of chicken.

Soooo, we shall see how I bounce back over the next couple of weeks. But my best advice, if you switch up your workout routine for another, don’t be too hard on yourself when you go back (easier said than done). But like THEY always say- uhhh….I forgot what they say. But yeah, be patient.

2 Comments

  1. Tricia,

    Keep up the good work! I know personnally how losing strength on your 1 rep maxes can be. Two weekends I was down with I assume was the flu, and we ended up doing 1 rep maxes the following week starting off with the deadlift. I actually hit a 45 PR and went from 455 to 500 (though my head felt like it was going to explode from the congestion I think I was still suffering from). I was super stoked and couldn’t wait to test out my back squat. Thursday rolls around and instead of PR’ing I actually lost 30lbs going from 365 to 335 (and barely got that).

    At the end of the day I chalked it up to a bad day and probably too much work during the week so don’t sweat your maxes right now. Your strength will come back quickly if you continue to focus on it and you’ll be PR’ing again in no time.

    Corey

    • Thank you so much for your inspiration and words Corey! It’s frustrating when you think you’re making progress and you have a bad day, but you just have to suck it up and keep going. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

