365 Days. Plus 4. Whoopsie

Hi kids. It’s been a really long time, and for that, I am super sorry. Not that anyone is really waiting on me to post anything, but still, I owe it to this blog and to myself to keep updating. I started a new job, started running, it became summer- you know, all the usual excuses. But now I’m starting to find balance again, and boom, I’m back! I really needed to write a post anyway, because I’m at my one year anniversary of getting my ass off the damn couch and doing something. One whole year! Besides the fact that now that I’m in my 30’s, time is just flying by at ridiculous speeds, I can not believe it’s been a year. Really, it’s been a year of living. I haven’t been going to CrossFit for a year yet, but exercise is exercise, ya know?   So a year I think, is best told in pictures.

First pic

First pic

Boom. That was the picture I took of myself the night before I set foot in the gym. Do I look unhappy? Uhhhh, yeah. I was. super unhappy (The horrendous hair day I was having probably didn’t help. Note I’m a blonde here…this post should also shed light on my yearly hair color cycle). I had enough of being like this, of getting winded easily, of hiding from people that knew me for more than a few years. I was freaking over it. So I sucked it up, buttercup, and made LJLD go to the gym with me. I think at that point if you had asked me if I would rather feel the way I felt when I was on the treadmill, or watch Michigan Football clips, I’d choose the treadmill.  Ok bad example….umm….treadmill or have my eyes poked by sporks, I’d have chosen the sporks. God it was so hard. I hated it so much, but dude did I feel better when I got off that thing. And it became an addiction.

Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 10.11.21 PM

One month and 15 lbs down

Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 10.11.50 PM

Cruisin’ with my Florida BFF and having a damn good time. (Still blonde)

And then, I found CrossFit. Lovely, beautiful CrossFit with it’s sweat angels and waddling and bruises and ‘Oh my god KILL ME’ moments. And the rest is history.

My first CrossFit photo!

My first CrossFit photo!

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 10.28.37 PM

Hanging out in Puerto Rico, November 2013. My clothes were way too big, SCORE! (Oh hey there, big red…)

1622861_10102182647913114_1469130791_n

Another cruise with my fraaaaand in January 2014, and yet, another hair color. (We will call this color rust…aka trying to go brown but the red won’t get the eff out)

Getting ready to lift what was a heavy deadlift at the time. February 2014

Getting ready to lift what was a heavy deadlift at the time. February 2014

Wall walks in April! I was just so glad to do it....

Wall walks in April! I was just so glad to do it….(Kinda brownish here)

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 11.01.46 PM

Being Fancy in May. You already know. And back to blonde

And here's where I am today.

And here’s where I am today. Blonde.

So there you go. That’s a very small snippet of a journey that’s still not over. I’ve been really bad about taking measurements and things like that, but I think the photos do a pretty stellar job of documenting my progress. I have wanted to give up so many times, you have absolutely no idea. I’ve wanted to sit down on that couch again and stuff my face full of pizza (ok, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t do that every now and then), but I just wanted to stay down and stuff my face. I’ve been tired, and cranky, and PMSing, and just over it, but I went anyway. I went for the great people I’ve met at my box, I went for my husband who reaches his hand all the way around my waist, or says things like ‘I can barely see you now’, I go for my parents who loved me enough to never say anything to me about how I had gained, and I go for me. Because at almost 32, I’ve found a real determination to not be the fat girl in my friend’s wedding photos.

A year ago, I was struggling on the treadmill for 20 minutes. I would cover up the timer with a towel so I wouldn’t have to see how long I had to be in agony. I dreaded the gym and the sweat and the feeling of being completely out of shape. Even though I was determined, and I was there 6 days a week, I still hated it. Now my social life and my fun revolves around working out. I’m at CrossFit 4-5 days a week, and that’s become my social circle. I don’t know if I would have stuck to all of this like I had if it weren’t for community I’ve found there.

I also am now running 3-4 days a week because I still have a pesky 20lbs or so to get off- mostly in my stomach and arms. But I needed some more cardio in my routine.   But in running I’ve found community too with a group of people in a club called ‘Running For Brews‘, which basically means we run, and then we drink beer together and talk about our run- it’s awesome. But no joke, I’m a member of a running group. A RUNNING GROUP. And not only am I in a running group, tomorrow starts the first day that I’m running (get it, mua ha ha!) the group on Monday’s. Like holy shit, who have I become!? Who is this girl pulling her husband off the couch to freaking RUN? Who’s this girl that’s skipping mani/pedi lunch hours to get in a double session of lifting? Who is this girl that is completely GEEKING out over these beautiful, glorious lifting shoes (In Ohio State colors, no less- boom shackalaaaaacka!)?

My SHOES!

My SHOES!

Well, what do you know. It’s me. Hell yes, it’s ME.

 

Again, you have to love yourself no matter what. And I really did, but I just didn’t love the package that I was in. And I didn’t love how doing every day things was a struggle. I just didn’t want to live like that anymore. So I’m not. I’ve still got a long way to go, but my goals have changed. I am now obsessively bugging my coach Sam to start training me in Olympic lifting. I want to lift some heavy things above my head. And pop my hips, let’s not lie. I love a good hip thrust. But I don’t want to be skinny anymore, like I thought I wanted when I started this journey. I now want to be a total bad ass. See goal wall picture for proof:

Goal Wall

Goal Wall

So here we go again, another 365 days on the horizon, and I’m super excited to see what this has to bring.  Just as long as it brings Doritos.

Next Up:

Whole30 and the Advocare 24 Day Challenge


 

Stats:

Start weight:217

Current weight: 175 lbs

Amount of muscle added: A shit ton

1st deadlift: 65 lbs

Current deadlift: 250 lbs

1st power clean: 35 lbs

Current power clean: 110 lbs

Running: Slow as IE 7

Running: still slow as IE 7 but I’m doing 3 5k’s a week

Pull ups Starting: Blue band the size of a tractor belt

Pull ups now- the purple band, which is the second smallest. A real pull up is coming….I promise!

Gains: more than you could ever know.

Follow me on Instagram, and keep me posted on your progress!

Leave a Reply

